Friday, Aug 01st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Racing Willis on top early in Limited after second win

Willis on top early in Limited after second win

Danny Willis Jr. is off to a hot start in the Limited Sportsman Division, getting his second victory in as many races Saturday at South Boston Speedway.

The Cluster Springs driver passed pole sitter Joey Throckmorton of South Boston on the opening lap and led the rest of the 50-lap race, finishing 0.773 seconds ahead of the former Pure Stock Division champion after a three-lap dash to the checkered flag.

Daryl Carver of Prospect Hill, N.C., finished in third-place, Caleb Davis of Thaxton, Va., was fourth, and Daniel Moss of Danville rounded out the top-five finishers in a race that took 17 minutes to run.

Three cautions delayed the race, one coming on lap 25 when Davis spun in turn two, and another on lap 26 when the car of G.R. Waldrop spun.

The third caution came on lap 47 when the cars of Garrett Bunch and Tommy Peregoy made contact in turn two when both drivers were gunning for position in the waning laps.

The Limited field included 16 cars, and 11 of them finished on the lead lap, but Willis led by a comfortable margin most of the race.

Willis admitted he didn’t think he had the car to beat before the race began.

“Last night practicing and today practicing we didn’t think we had anything at all,” he said.

“Joey has been on is game and qualifying was so tight,” said Willis, who made some changes before the race.

“It worked out for us, and after five or six laps, it was on a rail,” Willis noted.

“I’m hoping we can keep this up every week and stay in front and stay in contention for a championship.”

Throckmorton, who has two second-place finishes in his return to Limited Sportsman racing, said he was just trying to find a happy medium in setting up his racecar.

“We were tight last race, and we changed some stuff this race just trying to beat him (Willis).

“We were real loose up off today, and it just killed the drive up off.

“Maybe next race we can get in the middle.”

Throckmorton won his first pole of the season with a time of 16.008 seconds (89.995 MPH) 


Allred takes home second Pure Stock win in row

Joe Allred III of Scottsburg took home his second straight Budweiser Pure Stock Division win of the season, qualifying on the pole and leading every one of 30 laps to get the win.

Randy Hupp of Halifax recorded his second straight runner-up finish of the young season, with Stuart Crews of Long Island, Austin Milam of Ringgold and Jake Brown of Cluster Springs rounding out the top-five finishers.

One caution marred the race, coming after the car of Bruce Mayo spun on lap three, with second-place qualifier Nathan Crews retiring to the pits on lap eight.

Allred pulled away after that, winning by 2.650 seconds over Hupp in a race that took 13 minutes to run.

“If Stuart hadn’t had any bad luck, I probably wouldn’t have caught him either,” said Hupp, who passed Crews for second-place on lap 25.

“The longer I ran, it got loose and I really couldn’t do anything with him on the long run.”

Allred won despite battling some handling issues with his racecar.

“It got real loose, and I drove on the bottom for awhile and then it got really, really tight,” Allred admitted.

Allred won the pole for the second time this season, turning a lap in 18.062 seconds (79.725 MPH).


Slayton wins Modified race

Hunter Slayton of Richmond continued his winning ways at South Boston Speedway, winning the 50-lap Modified Division race Saturday night.

Starting third in a nine-car field, Slayton passed pole sitter Jimmy Humblet for the lead on lap 14, when the car of Humblet spun coming out of turn four producing the race’s only caution.

Slayton led the rest of the way, winning by 1.577 seconds over Tanner Rumburg of Beaverdam, Va.

Chris Johnson of Richmond, son of veteran driver Eddie Johnson, finished third, with Chris Hoylman of Dinwiddie and Mike Johnson of Richmond rounding out the top-five finishers.

Humblet won the pole with a time of 16.240 (88.670 MPH).