Wednesday, Jul 30th

Last updateMon, 28 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Racing McCarty sweeps Limited Sportsman twin bill

McCarty sweeps Limited Sportsman twin bill

The racing fortunes of Danny Willis Jr. and Bobby McCarty did a complete reversal in Saturday night’s twin-50 lap races for the Limited Sportsman Division at South Boston Speedway.

The Limited Sportsman points leader and winner of five straight races coming into Saturday night, Willis had a rough night after qualifying on the pole.

The Cluster Springs driver finished ninth in the first 50-lapper after contact with McCarty late in the race led to a cut tire and subsequent contact with the wall in turn three.

Willis started at the rear of the field in the nightcap and got as high as fourth before dropping out of the field after a spin on lap 27 and finishing in 10th-place.

McCarty, of Summerfield, N.C. was quick to take advantage of Willis’ misfortune, taking home wins in both 50-lap races for his second and third wins of the season, and now unofficially owns a six-point lead in the points chase.

Tommy Peregoy, a Clarksville driver making his return to the Limited Sportsman ranks after racing in the Late Model Stock Car Division, also had a good night, finishing second in both races, while Blake Stallings of Danville and Mike Jones of South Boston each had a podium finish for the night, Stallings with a third-place run in race one and Jones with a third-place finish in race two.

Jones and Mike Maresca of Hannawa Falls, N.Y., rounded out the top-five finishers in race one, while Maresca and Stallings finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in race two.

Willis looked to be in good shape to maintain his grip on the points lead in race one, qualifying on the pole with a time of 16.188 and leading past the halfway point until he and McCarty made contact coming out of turn three on the restart following the race’s second caution.

Willis’ car made contact with the outside retaining wall, with his tire going down and causing him to hit the wall on lap 136.

Peregoy led lap 37 on the restart before McCarty charged past him and into the lead a lap later, with McCarty pulling away to the win by 1.240 seconds.

A five-car inversion for race two had Maresca on the pole, with Jones taking the lead on lap one and leading that lap before Peregoy passed for the lead.

Peregoy led the next 18 laps before McCarty, who started fifth in the field, passed him on the restart following the race’s second caution.

McCarty led the final 30 laps and won race two by 3.753 seconds over Peregoy.

McCarty, who won the season-opening Limited Sportsman race, admitted he had been struggling in trying to get the car to where it could win races since that point.

Saturday’s twin wins could be sending him in the right direction, he indicated, but his win in race one was not the way he wanted it, referring to the incident between he and Willis.

“I know coming out of four on the front stretch it’s hard for the spotters to clear,” said McCarty following race one.

“I was at his rear bumper going into the turn and got momentum up on the high side, and I don’t know if his spotter told him clear or what, but I was there.

“I went off as quick as I could, but when I went off I pretty much hooked him.

“I’m very sorry about that,” added McCarty.  “I know Danny has been the man here recently, but I want to outrun him and not win this way.”

“We tried the Late Model thing for a little while but running the crate motor in Late Model just wasn’t working for us,” said Peregoy following the first race.

“I always loved Limited and got the opportunity to go to Late Model and try it, and it didn’t work out.”

“I don’t call it a step back,” added Peregoy.  “We run just as hard in Limited with these guys as we do in Late Model.”

Jones solidified his third-place standing in the Limited Sportsman points chase with his fourth- and third-place finishes.

He said his car was especially strong on the long runs, adding he couldn’t wait until the 100-lap race July 3.

“It seems like the longer we run the better it gets, and every caution just killed it,” remarked Jones.

The first Limited Sportsman race was delayed three times by cautions and took 34 minutes to run, while race two was delayed four times by cautions and took 29 minutes to run.


Allred claims Pure Stock win

Joe Allred III is unofficially back on top of the points standings in the Budweiser Pure Stock Division after a win from the pole Saturday at South Boston Speedway, his fifth of the season.

The Scottsburg driver took his third pole of the season with a time of 18.041 and led all 30 laps, winning the race by 1.222 seconds over Halifax driver Trey Crews.

Crews, the points leader coming into Saturday night’s race, finished second, followed by Halifax driver Randy Hupp.

Stuart Crews and Eric Crews, both of Long Island, finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in a race that was delayed once by caution and took 13 minutes to run.

“We still have a little bit of work to do…we’re close but we’re not there yet,” said Hupp.

“You know Joe is going to be three and Trey will be there, but we’re working on it.”

Crews had a chance to catch Allred on the restart following the race’s only caution, but came up short.

“I just didn’t have enough to get up on the inside of him and get beside him, but we tried,” said Crews.

Allred admitted his driving style could be wearing out his tires

“It looks like the tires aren’t lasting through the entire race, and maybe I’m driving it too hard again,” he said in Victory Lane.

“Maybe we can get some more and see what we can do the next race.”






1.Bobby McCarty50

2.Tommy Peregoy50

3.Blake Stallings50

4.Mike Jones50

5.Mike Maresca50

6.Chris Throckmorton50

7.Charles Barnes50

8.Eric Ellington49

9.Danny Willis Jr.36

10.G.R. Waldrop33

11.Daniel Moss33

12.Matt Bowling9

  TIME OF RACE: 34 Min.

  AVG. SPEED: 35.923 MPH

  MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.240 sec.


  LAP LEADERS: Danny Willis Jr. 1-36; Tommy Peregoy 37; Bobby McCarty 38-50

  POLE WINNER: Danny Willis Jr.

  SPEED: 88.955 MPH





1.Bobby McCarty50

2.Tommy Peregoy50

3.Mike Jones50

4.Mike Maresca50

5.Blake Stallings50

6.Chris Throckmorton50

7.Daniel Moss50

8.Charles Barnes50

9.Eric Ellington49

10.Danny Willis Jr.26

  TIME OF RACE: 29 Min.

  AVG. SPEED: 41.857 MPH



  LAP LEADERS: Michael Jones 1; Tommy Peregoy 2-20; Bobby McCarty 21-50





1.Joe Allred III30

2.Trey Crews30

3.Randy Hupp30

4.Stuart Crews30

5.Eric Crews30

6.Courtney Crosby30

7.Jimmy Wade29

8.Brandon Bomar26

9.Bruce Mayo25

10.Jake Brown25

11.Libby Privette19

12.Daniel Crews7

13.Nathan Crews-

  TIME OF RACE: 13 Min.

  AVG. SPEED: 53.195 MPH

  MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.222 sec.


  LAP LEADERS: Joe Allred 1-30