Wednesday, Jul 23rd

Last updateWed, 23 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home Sports Racing Action returns to South Boston Speedway on May 5

Action returns to South Boston Speedway on May 5

South Boston Speedway was idle last weekend and will be so again this weekend. However, the roar of racing engines will return to the historic .4-mile asphalt oval on Saturday, May 5 for the running of the WYYD presents USG Night Late Model racing program.


 Seven races will highlight the NASCAR Whelen All American Series program on May 5, with the first race starting at 7 p.m. 

The feature event of the evening will be a 150-lap shootout for the competitors in the NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division. 

In the opening three events of the 2012 season, there have been three different winners in the three points race battles that have been waged in the Late Model Stock Car ranks. 

Darrell Gilchrist claimed a victory two weeks ago in Late Model action and Matt Bowling and Deac McCaskill scored victories in the twin 75-lap races for the division last weekend.

 Bowling currently leads the division’s points standings in the early stages. Gilchrist is second and leads Peyton Sellers, a former national champion and South Boston Speedway title winner, by only three points.

 Also highlighting the WYYD presents USG Night Late Model 150 racing program will be twin races for the Limited Sportsman Division and a pair of events for the touring MAD (Modified Affordable Division) Modifieds.

 The May 5 racing program also includes a battle for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division and the debut race of the Spec Miata Oval Racing Series.

 Bobby McCarty is the leader in the Limited Sportsman Division standings by seven points over Danny Willis Jr. and by nine over Mike Jones. 

Joe Allred sits atop the standings in the Budweiser Pure Stock Division, while Stuart Crews and Courtney Crosby are currently tied for second.

Pit registration will begin at 1:30 p.m. on May 5. Practice for all divisions will be held from 3 p.m. until 4:30 p.m., grandstand gates will open at 5 p.m. and qualifying time trials will get underway at 5:30 p.m. The first race will get the green flag at 7 p.m.