Wednesday, Jul 30th

Last updateWed, 30 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home Sports Prep sports Comet earns district player of year honors

Comet earns district player of year honors

It was a case of “All in the Comet softball family,” last week when senior second baseman Meg Bane was named Player of the Year for the final year of the Western Valley District, following in the footsteps of older sister, Kate, named Player of the Year last season.

Nine other Comets were all-district selections, with freshman pitcher Taylor Barnes, senior third baseman Miyana Ross, senior first baseman Cori Campbell, sophomore catcher Ashley Watts and senior outfielder Tayler Mosley named to the First Team.

Four others were Second Team selections, including junior outfielder Megan Puckett, freshman shortstop Cecilie Elliott and sophomore outfielder Kye-Neisha Logan.

Senior pitcher Courtney Epps became the 10th player to be named All-Western Valley District as an Honorable Mention selection.

Halifax County finished with a 20-3 record this past season, winning both the regular season and tournament championships in the final year of the Western Valley District.

The Comets edged Battlefield High School 1-0 in the first round of the Northwest Region Tournament before losing to Osbourn High School 4-3.


All-Western Valley District

First Team

Meg Bane, Halifax County - IF

Taylor Barnes, Halifax County - P

Miyana Ross, Halifax County - IF

Cori Campbell, Halifax County - IF

Ashley Watts, Halifax County – C

Tayler Mosley, Halifax County – OF

Hali Saul, Franklin County – P

Mackenzie Chitwood, Franklin County – C

Logan Barbour, Franklin County – IF

Hannah Dudley, Franklin County – OF

Ashley Keith, Franklin County – OF

Alexis Cox, Patrick Henry – Utility

Rachel Hale, Patrick Henry – IF


Second Team

Megan Puckett, Halifax County – OF

Cecilie Elliott, Halifax County – IF

Kye-Neisha Logan, Halifax County – OF

Becky France, Franklin County – DP

Kameron Cundiff, Franklin County – Utility

Sierra Naff, Franklin County – IF

Taylor Greenway, Franklin County – IF

Katie Dill, Patrick Henry – C

Hannah Snider, Patrick Henry – IF

Carson Arnold, Patrick Henry – IF

Samantha Russell, Patrick Henry – OF

Tara Wilkerson, GW – IF

Taylor Hamlett, GW – C

Shanta Morgan, William Fleming – P


Honorable Mention

Courtney Epps, Halifax County – P


Jordan Whitcomb, Franklin County – OF