Wednesday, Jul 30th

Last updateWed, 30 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home Sports Prep sports Eleven Comets gridders earn all-district honors

Eleven Comets gridders earn all-district honors

Eleven Halifax County High School football players earned All-Western Valley District Team honors, with two Comets standouts, running back Alonzo Bennett and offensive tackle Seth Adams, earning First Team accolades.

Bennett ran for 1,533 yards and 12 touchdowns and averaged 8.2 yards per carry for the Comets this season. 

Adams was a stalwart on the Comets’ offensive line, having a stellar season blocking and helping open up holes for Bennett and other Comets players to pick up yardage.

Both Bennett and Adams will be eligible for voting for the All-Northwest Region Team.

Six Comets players were named to the Second Team. That group includes wide receiver Jamal Crews, tight end Tyler Dunn and guard Damien Hunt on offense and lineman Chris Baisch, defensive end Galontre Thaxton and linebacker Tre’ Morgan.

Morgan led the Comets in tackles this season, having 56 tackles, 25 assists and five sacks heading into the Comets’ season finale. Thaxton had 20 tackles and Baisch had 17 tackles heading into the Comets’ final game of the season. 

Hunt had a solid season playing up front on the Comets’ offensive line. Crews caught 15 passes for a team-high 251 yards, including two for touchdowns. Dunn had the most catches among Comets receivers with 23 receptions and had 177 yards receiving for the season. 

Three Comets players, defensive back Rufus Jeffress, kicker Kyle Lacks and punter Jason Dennis earned Honorable
Mention kudos for their play this season.

Bobby Martin, the head coach of the Western Valley District Champion GW football team, earned Coach of the Year honors.

Western Valley District Player of the Year honors went to Travis Jones of GW and Patrick Henry High School quarterback David Prince.


All-Western Valley District Team

Coach of the Year: Bobby Martin (GW)

Players of the Year: Travis Jones (GW), David Prince (PH)


First Team Offense

Kris Luckett (FC) – Tackle

Seth Adams (HC) – Tackle

Anthony Robinson (PH) – Guard

Al Matthews (FC) – Guard

Chris Burton (GW) – Tight End

Robert Lovelace (GW) –Center

Rasheed Whorley (PH) – Wide Receiver

Malik Bonds (WF) – Wide Receiver

David Prince (PH) – Quarterback

Alonzo Bennett (HC) – Running Back

Rasheed Whorley (PH) – Running Back

Caleb McGeough (GW) – Kicker

First Team Defense

Zach Baker (PH) – Lineman

Josh Davis (GW) – Lineman

Tyler Tune (FC) – Lineman

Justin Hall (GW) – Defensive End

Nate Lee (PH) – Defensive End

Bobby Martin (GW) – Linebacker

Demetris Anderson (PH) – Linebacker

Charles Jennings (FC) – Linebacker

Robert Lovelace (GW) - Linebacker 

Kahleel Tucker (GW) – Linebacker

E.J. Harris (FC) – Defensive Back

Diamond Shorter (WF) – Defensive Back

Trevor Mike (PH) – Defensive Back

Cortez Ogden (PH) – Defensive Back


Second Team Offense

Quintavis Beard (GW) – Tackle

Judge Browning (GW) – Tackle

Damien Hunt (HC) – Guard

Desmond Thompson (GW) – Guard

Tyler Dunn (HC) – Tight End

John Allen (FC) – Center

Jamal Crews (HC) – Wide Receiver

Malik Clements (GW) – Wide Receiver

Demontae Ballard (GW) – Quarterback

Chance Tyree (FC) – Running Back

Antwaun Harried (PH) – Running back

Etienne Morrisseau (WF) – Running Back

Jacob Otterman (PH) – Kicker



Second Team Defense

Chris Baisch (HC) – Lineman

Derell Stone (WF) – Lineman

Josh Stone (FC) – Lineman

Galontre Thaxton (HC) – Defensive End

Alveno Matthew (FC) – Defensive End

Dahquan Ederington (WF) – Defensive End

Tre’ Morgan (HC) – Linebacker

Michael Gravely (WF) – Linebacker

Leroy Cooper (PH) – Linebacker

Jordan Bass (PH) Linebacker

Travis Jones (GW) – Defensive Back

Jaylyn Gill (FC) – Defensive Back

Myles Bennett (GW) – Defensive Back

Malik Clements (GW) – Defensive Back

Honorable Mention – Offense

Quincy Miller (PH) – Tackle

Damien Davis (PH) – Tackle

Jack Boone (FC) – Guard

Clay Woolwine (PH) – Guard

Bobby Martin (GW) – Tight End

Ryan Wade (FC) – Tight End

Nate Lee (PH) – Tight End

Zach Baker (PH) – Center

Diamond Shorter (WF) – Wide Receiver

Brandon Robinson (PH) – Wide Receiver

Marcus Terry (PH) – Wide Receiver

Kowante Cobb (GW) – Wide Receiver

Ray Witcher (FC) – Wide Receiver

Tyrell Adams (WF) – Quarterback

Christian Witcher (FC) – Quarterback

Jaylyn Gill (FC) – Running Back

Kyle Lacks (HC) – Kicker

Ethan Power (FC) – Kicker

Jereimiah McGeough (GW) – Kicker

Taylor Richardson (FC) – Kicker


Honorable Mention – Defense

Anthony Robinson (PH) – Lineman

Akeem Smith (GW) – Lineman

Damion Davis (PH) – Lineman

Jonathan Altice (FC) – Defensive End

Shaquille Wallace (GW) – Defensive End

Malik Dandridge (GW) – Linebacker

Rufus Jeffress (HC) – Defensive Back

Thomas Church (FC) – Defensive Back

Comante Cooper (PH) – Defensive Back



Jeremiah McGeough (GW) – First Team

Etienne Morrisseau (WF) – Second Team

Jason Dennis (HC) – Honorable Mention


Kick Returner

Ray Witcher (FC) – First Team

Rashad Whorley (PH) – Second Team

Travis Jones (GW) – Honorable Mention


w Abbreviations: Patrick Henry High School (PH), Franklin County High School (FC), Halifax County High School (HC), William Fleming High School (WF), George Washington High School (GW)