Thursday, Jul 31st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Prep sports Eight Comets spikers named to honors team

Eight Comets spikers named to honors team

Eight members of the Halifax County High School varsity volleyball team were named to the All-Western Valley District squad last week.

Senior outside hitter Jordan Miller and senior setter Meg Bane both were First Team selections, while senior libero Autumn McFadden, sophomore middle hitter Whitney White and senior outside hitter Kelsy Williams both were Second Team selections.

Senior outside hitter Kendall Lloyd, sophomore setter Gabrielle Spainhour and junior outside hitter Chris Bradshaw each were named Honorable Mention All-Western Valley District.

District champion Patrick Henry High School had three First Team selections, including Caroline Brailsford, Sarah Miller and Abbey Wolpert, Franklin County High School had two including Ann Taylor Walker  and Linsey Schiemann, and GW High School had one First Team selection, Jamonica Pinkney.

Bradley Smith of Patrick Henry was a Second Team selection, as were Caitlin Churn and Joanna Osborne of Franklin County, Kodi Thacker and Courtney Mendenhall of GW and LaTasha Williams of William Fleming.

Honorable Mention selections included Page Pest, Lauren Deck and Haley Arnold of Patrick Henry, MacKenzie Chitwood, MiKayla Holland, Sierra Gardner and Ayron Walker of Franklin County, Shontell White, Jewel Hurt and Raven Burnett of William Fleming, and Carley Chandler and Kellie O’Boyle of GW.