Tuesday, Jul 22nd

Last updateMon, 21 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home Sports Prep sports Baseball standouts make region selections

Baseball standouts make region selections

The Halifax County High School varsity baseball team, coming off a 15-5 season and both the regular season and tournament championships in the Western Valley District, placed six players on the All-Northwest Region team announced this week. 

Senior outfielder William Worley, sophomore second baseman Will Harris and junior designated hitter Ryan Yates were each named First Team, All-Northwest Region.

Senior utility player Ford Bradshaw was a Second Team, All-Northwest Region selection, while senior first baseman Joe Martin and senior pitcher Dylan Sons were Honorable Mention selections.

Joining Worley, Harris and Yates on the First Team are sophomore pitcher Blake Bivens of GW-Danville, junior outfielder Zach Newell and senior first baseman Matt Malacane of Freedom, junior outfielder Logan Farrar of Woodbridge, senior third baseman Anthony Malocu of Colonial Forge, senior shortstop Derick Evans of Battlefield, senior utility player Nathaniel Traugh of Riverbend, senior catcher Issac Geisler of Mountain View and junior pitcher Andre Scrubb of C.D. Hylton.

Joining Bradshaw on the Second Team are junior catcher Jay Cumbo of GW-Danville and senior Chase Boster of Colonial Forge, who made the team as designated hitter and pitcher, junior second baseman Jeovan Sneed and junior third baseman Andre Scrubb of C.D. Hylton, senior first baseman Tyler Thomas and senior shortstop Brandon Gum of Woodbridge, senior pitcher Sean Kennedy of North Stafford, senior outfielder Sean Garza of Osbourn Park, senior outfielder Ryan Leake of Stafford and junior outfielder Joe Burris of Albemarle.

Joining Martin and Sons on the Honorable Mention team are senior second baseman Justin Kime and senior shortstop Craig Lopez of Mountain View, senior third baseman Kyle Hunt of Franklin County, senior outfielder Ryan Ross of GW-Danville, senior outfielder Justin Petock of Woodbridge, junior outfielder Colin Dean of Freedom, senior pitcher Brandon Withers of Osbourn, sophomore catcher Will Frazier of C.D. Hylton, sophomore designated hitter Nick Feight of Battlefield and senior utility player Chris Coletti of Forest Park.

Andre Scrubb of C.D. Hylton was named Player of the Year for the Northwest Region and Head Coach Craig Fiesher of C.D. Hylton was named Coach of the Year.