Friday, Jul 25th

Last updateFri, 25 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Comets Earn Berth In Tourney

Comets Earn Berth In Tourney

Through much of the regular-season, the Halifax County High School golf team battled Patrick Henry High School for second place in the Western Valley District standings. The Comets edged the Patriots for second place in the regular-season standings, but it was Wednesday’s Western Valley District Championship Golf Tournament at West Lake Golf Course at Smith Mountain Lake on which the Comets’ season hinged.

Overcoming tough conditions on a windy day, the Comets golf team finished second in the Western Valley District Championship Tournament and secured a team berth in the Northwest Region Tournament.

The Northwest Region Tournament will be played October 7-8 at The Piedmont Club in Haymarket, the home course of reigning Northwest Region champion Battlefield High School.

The Comets finished 28 shots behind Franklin County High School, which completed a sweep of both the regular-season and district championship tournament titles.

“It wasn’t pretty, but we’ll take it,” remarked Comets coach David Graham.

“It was a very tough day to play with high winds on a very tough golf course. The team struggled, but came through in the end.

“I’m really proud of the way the players came together as a team, working with each other in practice and on the course,” added Graham.

“Their efforts paid off with a trip to the Northwest Region Tournament.”

Parker Harrell led the Comets with his round of 82 and was followed by T.J. Daniel, who carded a round of 84.

As a result of their scores in the district championship tournament, both Harrell and Daniel were named to the All-Western Valley District Golf Team.

“Parker and T.J. had outstanding rounds,” Graham said.

“Both made the All-Western Valley District Team and I congratulate them for that.”

Also among the scores that counted towards the Comets’ team total were a round of 88 from Tayler Tepper and a round of 89 posted by Cody Spencer.

The Comets’ Coy Lawson carded a round of 92 and Kaitlin Fallen turned in a round of 103. Neither of those scores counted towards the team total. Only the four best scores among the team’s six players are counted towards the team total.

Franklin County High School continued its stronghold on Western Valley District golf by winning Wednesday’s district championship tournament with a team total of 315.

The Comets finished second with a 343 score, finishing 28 shots behind Franklin County. The important matter, however, was that the Comets edged Patrick Henry by three strokes to earn the district’s second team berth in the Northwest Region Tournament.

GW finished fourth with a team total of 358 and was 12 shots behind Patrick Henry. William Fleming High School rounded out the field with a 475 team total.

Three Franklin County High School players, Josh Neal, Asher Walker and Tyler Washburn, tied for medalist honors in Wednesday’s tournament. All three players turned in a round of 78.

Graham said he and the coaches and players on Comets golf team greatly appreciate the support they have received this season.

“I thank the parents of the players for their support this year,” Graham said.

“I also thank the officials and staff of Green’s Folly Golf Course, Charlie Payne and the Halifax County Middle School golf team, and the sponsors that we had this year for making this a great year for the Comets golf team.”

Western Valley District Championship Tournament Results

Josh Neal - 78
Asher Walker - 78
Shane Lester - 82
Matt Searing - 82
Ethan Dudley - 81
Tyler Washburn - 78
Cody Spencer - 89
T.J. Daniel - 84
Parker Harrell - 82
Tayler Tepper - 88
Kaitlin Fallen - 103
Coy Lawson - 92
Austin Dillard - 84
Chris Wright - 84
Rob Floyd - 90
Joe Jarvis - 88
Kyle Glover - 91
David Pero - 102
Christian Clifton - 88
Steven Daniels - 100
Newton Ray - 98
Sarafina Sampson - 91
Lyndsey Harris - 105
Andrew Cox - 81
Marquan Jones  - 105
Kyree Clegg - 115
Derek Ray - 136
Jarabi Webb - 119
Joseph Ray - 151

Northwest Region Tournament Individual Qualifiers
(From Regular Season Play)
Austin Dillard – Patrick Henry
David Pero – Patrick Henry
Chris Wright – Patrick Henry

Northwest Region Tournament Individual Qualifiers
(From District Tournament)
Andrew Cox – GW
Joe Jarvis – Patrick Henry
Christian Clifton – GW

All-Western Valley District Team
(From Regular Season)
Josh Neal – Franklin Co.
Matt Searing – Franklin Co.
Asher Walker – Franklin Co.
Austin Dillard – Patrick Henry
Shane Lester – Franklin Co.

All-Western Valley District Team
(From District Tournament)
Tyler Washburn – Franklin Co.
Ethan Dudley – Franklin Co.
Andrew Cox - GW
Parker Harrell – Halifax Co.
T.J. Daniel – Halifax Co.
Chris Wright – Patrick Henry