Wednesday, Jul 30th

Last updateMon, 28 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Players selected in basketball draft

Players selected in basketball draft

The following players have been selected in the annual South Boston Recreation Department Mites Basketball draft.

Six teams drafted players, including the Pistons, Mustangs, Eagles, Rockets, Raptors and Gators.

The Mites practice schedule also was released, with the Raptors and Mustangs practicing each Tuesday from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

The Pistons and Gators practice Tuesday from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., and the Eagles and Rockets practice Tuesday from 7:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. 

Mike Mills will coach the Pistons with assistance from Lynwood Bynum.  Players drafted for the Pistons include Jack Morgan, Eli Seamster, Maleke Bynum, Trevor Mills, Jamonte Walton, Luke McKinney and Zalair Carter.

Donna Hudson will coach the Mustangs, who drafted Zack Dudley, Rymel Darden, Tyrone Sims, Shykail Darden, Emjomo Moore Jr., Aiden Jordan and Chase Davis.

Edwin Cawthorn will serve as head coach for the Eagles, and Brian Lovelace will serve as assistant coach.

Eagles draft picks include Brysin Cawthorn, Donnasia Harper,Tyrek Fountain and Donnell Harper Jr.

Christine Walker will coach the Rockets and Donnell Walker will serve as assistant coach.

Rockets draft picks include Jayden Claiborne, Precious Harwell, Jelontre Dunkley, LaNiah Bowman and Kaniyah Duncan.

David Garner will serve as head coach for the Raptors and Shawn Ford will serve as assistant coach.

Raptors draft picks include Donald Ford Jr., Jamir Ford, Tyler Ford and Jasmine Vass.

Lamont Leigh will serve as head coach for the Gators and Ruth Leigh will serve as assistant coach.

Gators draft picks include ZyEire Perkins, Malik Ross, Henry Midkiff and Logan Coles.


SoBo Pee Wee

The South Boston Pee Wee Basketball League held its annual draft recently, with 10 teams selecting players, including the Tarheels, Celtics, Cougars, Cavaliers, Blue Devils, Bobcats, Explorers, Nets, Warriors and Bulls.

The Pee Wee Basketball League practice schedule also was released, with the Bobcats practicing Mondays from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. And the Explorers from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

The Celtics and Blue Devils practice Mondays from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m., and the Cavaliers and the Bulls practice Mondays from 8 p.m. To 9 p.m.

Three Pee Wee teams practice on Friday, with the Nets practicing from 5 p.m. To 6 p.m. and the Cougars practicing from 6 p.m. To 7 p.m.

Vance Sutphin will serve as head coach for the Tarheels and Wayne Garland will serve as assistant coach.

Tarheels draft picks include Montre’el Claiborne, India Ginn and Noel Seda.

Tyler Bostic will coach the Celtics, which drafted Ciara Megirt, Jaedyn Ford, Tamia Davis, Alayzha Mosley and Zolae Bailey.

Gregory Younger will serve as head coach for the Cougars and Laura Walker will be assistant coach.

Cougars draft picks include Javon Morris, Semaj Jeffreys, Nijay Wood, Kameron Brigham, Mason Vargas and Jemiya Moore.

Darrius Jennings will serve as coach for the Cavaliers, which drafted Brandon Rice jr., Jahmarri Chandler, Zakiya Green, Dashawn Medley and Thomas Lee.

Robert Morrison will coach the Blue Devils, which drafted Dionte’ Martin, Kevon Ferrell and Natilya Traynham.

Ramone Perkins will coach the Bobcats, which drafted TyQuan Palmer, Grayson balance, Savonte’ Oliver II, Trey Nester, Jonathan Hudson and Shaniya Newton.

Keesha White will coach the Explorers, which drafted Jamonte Boxley, Mario Betts, Zion Lipscomb, Will Tuck, Summer Dushiell and Romello Ferrell.

James Martin will coach the Nets, which drafted Jordan Ross, Ryker Pulley, Demetrus Owen, Demetria Owen and George Owen Jr.

Gwayne Alderson will coach the Warriors, which drafted Osiris Ross, Malik Jones, Tylik Jones, Amiya Jones and Donte Stuckey.

Julliana Berry will coach the Bulls, which drafted John Louden, Luke Redd, Kashari Miller and Christian Dixon.