Thursday, Jul 31st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Clay, Stinespring eye fifth straight title

Clay, Stinespring eye fifth straight title

Can the tandem of Jimmy Clay and Lurdy Stinespring make it five wins in a row?

That’s the question entering the annual Halifax Country Club Member-Member Golf Tournament which tees off Saturday at 8 a.m. and concludes with Sunday’s final round.

Clay and Stinespring made it four wins in a row in last year’s tournament, edging the team of David Meeks and Woody Clay by one shot.

Meeks and Clay are teaming up again this weekend, joining 40 other teams that, like them, will be looking to end the lengthy reign held by the four-time champions.

It will take some stellar scores to get the job done this weekend. Among the top five teams in last year’s Championship Flight, there was only one round of 70.

Tee times are set for the field on Saturday. There will be a 1 p.m. shotgun start on Sunday.


Tee times

8 A.M. – Greg Meeks – Bob Thomasson, Tommy Spencer, C. Spencer

8:15 A.M. – Sam Lewis – Len Ferrell, G. Burton – T. Powell

8:30 A.M. – Gray Ramsey – Colt Wickermyer, J. Caldwell – B. Owen

8:45 A.M. – M. Jenkins – M. Thaxton, Bob Lewis, J.E. Tuck

9 A.M. -  Coleman Speece – Bob Compton, Buddy Ferrell - M. Foster

9:15 A.M. – W. Long – R. Bennett, Robert Fallen – D. Hughes

9:30 A.M. – Mike Hailey – Dennis Witt, P. Glass – D. Myers

9:45 A.M. – Ronnie Pate – Walter Robertson, Wendell Hite – Paul Butler

10 A.M. -  Bob Tysinger – Tom Kluge, Gary Gupton – Phil Rinker

10:15 A.M. – Lurdy Stinespring – Jimmy Clay, W.J. Long – Bobby Long

10:30 A.M. -  Nookie Green – Ryan Green, Teddy Holt – Tyler Holt

10:45 A.M. -  Joe Gasperini – Stacy Tingen, Joey Gasperini – Peter Gasperini

11 A.M. – Brad Mele – Mike Dunn, David Meeks – Woody Clay

11:15 A.M. -  S. Crutchfield – J. Morgan, J. Nelson – A.P. Crews

11:30 A.M. – Nathan Lantor – Brad Thomasson, Charlie Baskervill – Nelson Baskervill

11:45 A.M. – Eric Arthur Jr. – Reed Edwards, R. Bradley – Grayson Throckmorton

NOON – D. Mason – K. Kim, Brandon Scearce – Grayson Francis

12:15 P.M. -  John Courtney – Fred Palmore, Jimmy Allen – Mike Lindley

12:30 P.M. -  Dan Powell – Dennis Seamster, Joel Cunningham – Joel Cunningham Jr.

1 P.M. -  Jerry Burnette – Mark Dickerson, G. Hayes – C. Lumsden

1:15 P.M. – Mike Rand – Joe Barkley, D. Gilliam – D. Gilliam