Saturday, Jul 26th

Last updateSat, 26 Jul 2014 12am

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Morris sweeps twinbill at South Boston Speedway

Morris sweeps twinbill at South Boston Speedway

Father’s Day is a special time for many families. Philip Morris celebrated Father’s Day a few hours early Saturday night at South Boston Speedway by sweeping the pair of 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division that highlighted the Halifax County Business Appreciation Late Model Twin 75s racing program.


With his father, Julius, and his 14-year-old son, Blake, watching, Morris returned to the dominating form he had shown before Peyton Sellers snapped his South Boston Speedway record nine-straight wins on June 4.


In the first 75-lap race, Morris pulled away from C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach in a 17-lap dash to the finish that followed the last of the race’s four caution periods to score a 1.018-second win.

Later, Morris edged Natalie Sather of Fargo, N.D. by 1.150 second in a three-lap dash that followed the last of that race’s four caution periods.

“This is pretty special,” Morris remarked.

“I wanted to win it for Father’s Day for my dad. He loves racing and he’s the reason I got started in this. It’s pretty special with three generations here.”

Morris, a multi-time former NASCAR national champion and a former South Boston Speedway Champion, now has 11 wins in the 13 races run this season at South Boston Speedway.

It was only on restarts following caution periods that Morris faced any serious challenge. In most instances, he needed only about five laps to open up enough of a gap to give himself a cushion over his challengers.

“I think H.C. Sellers really threw the magic at it tonight,” Morris pointed out.

“It was awesome to have a car that good and to have the choices to where I wanted to run the car. The car was really good.”
Falk and Sather finished second and third respectively in the first race and it appeared that a repeat was pending in the second race. But, that went out the window when Falk spun with three laps to go while battling Sather for the runner-up spot.

Sather restarted the race in second place while Falk restarted in eighth place. While Sather attempted to give Morris a run for the win, the best Falk could do was get to sixth place.

“We had a good car the first race and tried to adjust for the second race,” Falk said.

“I figured what’s the worst than can happen? We pretty much experienced the worst that could happen and spun out with three laps to go. I probably should have ended up with a third-place finish and ended up sixth.”

Sather was ecstatic about her night with the third-place and second-place finishes that allowed her to unofficially move into second place in the track’s points standings.

“I told C.E. after the first race ‘it looks like you won and I got second because we couldn’t catch Philip,’” Sather pointed out.

“It (the second race) was sort of like a win, but not quite. I thought I might have something for Philip on the outside with three laps to go. Normally I’m really good on the outside. But after that last heat cycle on the tires, it (the car) was so tight that I was hoping I could hold onto second let alone take the win.”

Dennis Holdren of Roanoke and South Boston’s Bruce Anderson completed the top five finishers in the first race.

Matt Bowling of Ridgeway scored his best finish of the season with his third-place finish in the nightcap. Doug Godsey of Richmond and Sam Hunt of Midlothian rounded out the top five finishers in the second race.

Bowling’s third-place effort in the nightcap gave Sellers Racing of Danville its first-ever sweep of the top three positions in a NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race at South Boston Speedway.

Results Of The First
75-Lap Late Model Stock Car Race
Pos.    Driver    Laps
1.    Philip Morris    75
2.    C.E. Falk     75
3.    Natalie Sather    75
4.    Dennis Holdren    75
5.    Bruce Anderson    75
6.    Josh Oakley    75
7.    David Triplett Jr.    75
8.    Ronald Hill    75
9.    Sam Hunt    75
10.    Scott Marshall    75
11.    Jonathan Smith    75
12.    Tommy Peregoy    64
13.    Andrew Dean    55
14.    Matt Bowling    49
15.    Doug Godsey    41
16.    Michael Hardin    28
17.    Julia Landauer    28
18.     Greg Fernandez    16
19.    Peyton Sellers    7
20.    Barry Beggarly    7
21.    Brian Rumstrom    2
22.    Jason Adkins    2
23.    Danny Willis Jr.    2
24.    Brian Pembelton    1

Time of Race: 51 Min. 24 Sec.
Ave. Speed: 35.020 MPH
Margin Of Victory: 1.018 sec.
Lap Leaders: Philip Morris 1-75
Pole Winner: Philip Morris
Time: 15.540 sec.
Speed: 92.664 MPH