Saturday, Jul 26th

Last updateSat, 26 Jul 2014 12am

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Morris continues domination of SBS

Morris continues domination of SBS

There have been few times in the history of South Boston Speedway in which a driver has earned six wins in a row in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division.

Former South Boston Speedway NASCAR track champion Elliott Sadler was the first to do it in 1995. Philip Morris did it in 1998 when he won the South Boston Speedway NASCAR track championship.

Morris has now achieved that mark a second time.

The former NASCAR national champion made it six wins in a row Saturday night with a sweep of the NASCAR Whelen Late Model Twin 75s.

In the opener, Morris outran Frank Deiny Jr. and the rest of the field in a 15-lap dash to the finish that followed the race’s final caution period. His margin of victory over Deiny was 1.122 second.

Later, after having led 117 laps and finishing third in the PASS South Super Late Model 150, Morris won a late-race battle with Natalie Sather of Fargo, N.D. to win the night’s second 75-lap Late Model Stock Car race.

“To win six races in a row at South Boston Speedway is awfully special,” Morris remarked.

“H.C. (H.C. Sellers) has put a great car under me and (car owner) Jim Dean has great equipment and has given me outstanding support. I think anybody can drive this car.”

Morris dominated the first race, but had a tough battle with Sather in the closing laps in the nightcap. Sather got the best of Morris on the next-to-last restart of the race, which came on lap 65.

Sather surged past Morris on lap 68 to take the lead and led one more lap before Morris inched back into the lead on lap 70, just before the caution flag waved for the last time.

Morris got a much better start on the final restart on lap 70, and quickly pulled away from Sather. His margin of victory was 1.243 second.

“I thought we had the best car,” Morris said.

“I was going to lose the race just in the seat, so I had to just man-up and pray-up right there.”

While there was a little tinge of disappointment that she didn’t get the win, Sather said she was happy to finish second in the close race.

“To be up here running for the win against the five-time national champion is amazing,” Sather said with a huge smile.

“I never thought this would happen.”

Sather said the last caution flag hurt her bid.

“On the next-to-last restart, he shifted a little bit before I did and I shifted and I got the jump coming into Turn One,” Sather pointed out.

“I thought I had him cleared coming off of Turn Two and he (Morris) came up (the track). There was a little contact made, but that’s racing. I think I would have been alright if we hadn’t had that last yellow (flag). That last restart I just didn’t quite get a good enough run.”

South Boston resident Bruce Anderson finished third with defending track champion, Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C., and Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md. rounding out the top five finishers in the nightcap.

In the first race, Morris and Deiny were followed by Jeb Burton of Halifax, Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. and Sather.