Friday, Jul 25th

Last updateFri, 25 Jul 2014 8pm

You are here: Home Sports Local sports Dabbs, Mayo Named To WVD First Team

Dabbs, Mayo Named To WVD First Team

Two member of the Halifax County High School varsity boys basketball team, Deshon Dabbs and Kejuan Mayo, have been named to the First Team of the All-Western Valley District Boys Basketball Team. Dabbs, the Comets’ leading scorer, and Mayo, the team’s top rebounder, were among seven players that were named to the First Team as a result of the balloting by district coaches during Monday’s post-season district coaches meeting.

The two Comets seniors are among seven Comets players that were selected to the all-district team.

Only those players that are selected to the First Team are eligible to be voted upon in the balloting for the All-Northwest Region Team.

Four seniors, Marcus Williams, Deshon Clarke, Rob Jackson and Tevin Gayles, received Honorable Mention accolades. Junior Demetri Faulkner also received Honorable Mention kudos.

The Comets basketball team had a successful 2009-2010 season, winning 12 games and finishing third in the Western Valley District regular-season standings. It was a good accomplishment considering that one prominent pre-season poll had the Comets listed as finishing last in the district standings.

Patrick Henry High School guard Melvin Henderson was named as the Player of the Year in the district. PH coach Jack Esworthy, who guided the Patriots to the regular-season and district tournament titles, was named as the Coach of the Year.

Henderson and fellow Patrick Henry High School senior Terrell Wilson, were named to the First Team, joining Dabbs and Mayo. GW’s C.J. Barksdale, Franklin County High School guard Chris Tyree and William Fleming High School guard Miles Henderson were also named to the First Team.

GW and Patrick Henry players took five of the seven Second Team spots.