Thursday, Jul 31st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home Sports Modified, Late Model battles resume at SBS

Modified, Late Model battles resume at SBS

The action is always intense when the competitors in the touring NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour invade South Boston Speedway and Saturday night will be no different.

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will make its first of two visits to America›s Hometown Track for a 150-lap event Saturday.

Adding to the excitement of the night of racing, which will get cranked up at 7 p.m., will be the addition of a pair of 75-lap shootouts for the competitors in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Late Model Stock Car Division.

Brian Loftin and defending series champion George Brunnhoelzl III enter Saturday›s action at South Boston Speedway tied for the lead in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

Loftin, the 2008 series champion, is coming off a victory at Caraway Speedway in Asheboro, N.C. last week and Brunnhoelzl will be looking for his second career triumph at America›s Hometown Track and, he is looking to become the first driver to repeat as series champion since Junior Miller pulled off the feat in 2005-2006.

Other top competitors joining Loftin and Brunnhoelzl in the star-studded field will be L.W. Miller, Burt Myers, James Myers, Tim Brown, John Smith and Frank Fleming.

Darrell Gilchrist, who scored his first career NASCAR Whelen All-American Late Model Stock Car Division last week at South Boston Speedway, will be looking for wins two and three on the young season this weekend, but will have his hands full with a field of many of the top Late Model performers in the region expected.

Dustin Storm placed second in last week’s 150-lap race and was followed in the top five by Matt Bowling, Tommy Peregoy and Hunter Devers.

Practice for both divisions will begin Saturday at 1:35 p.m. and will continue through 3:25 p.m.

Grandstand gates will open Saturday at 4 p.m. and qualifying time trials will begin at 4:15 p.m.

Prior to the 7 p.m. start of racing action, a Fan Appreciation Session will be held trackside, beginning at 6 p.m.