- Last Updated on 07:32 AM 11/27/13
- BY The Gazette-Virginian
A reminder that the deadline for payment of county real estate and personal property taxes for 2013 will be Thursday, Dec. 5, according to Halifax County Treasurer Linda Foster.
Postmarks dated Dec. 5 will be accepted without penalty and interest on personal property and the second installment on real estate taxes.
Under state law, a 10 percent penalty and a 10 percent per annum interest rate will be added to all unpaid taxes, Foster said.
“Please check your 2013 personal property bills for all vehicles, etc. listed as of Jan. 1,” the treasurer said.
Any taxpayer who did not receive a bill on personal property taxes assessed Jan 1, 2013, should call the county treasurer’s office at 434-476-3318. Any new landowner after Jan. 1 should call if they did not receive a bill, Foster added.
Any questions on assessment value, change of address or decal fees should be addressed to the commissioner of revenue’s office at 434-476-3314.
Also this year by local ordinance, the county is assessing a $48 solid waste disposal fee for one per household on the personal property bill. This fee will help cover some of the costs of operating the county’s transfer station and the transporting of refuse to the regional landfill in Mecklenburg County, Foster said.
Call 476-3314 or 476-3318 for more information concerning this fee.
For payments, detach all bill coupons and mail a check or money order to the Halifax County Treasurer, P. O. Box 825, Halifax, Virginia 24558. Payments also may be made using most credit/debit cards on line at www.webfeepay.com. Use a ticket number, category of tax, either real estate or personal property and the tax year being paid. Most credit/debit cards also are accepted in the office. The county only will receive the tax amount due. The company will charge a $3 minimum fee or 3 percent of total taxes due, whichever is greater.
Payments can be made at the county treasurer’s office in the Mary Bethune Office Complex, 1030 Cowford Road in Halifax between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Also the new 2014 dog tags are available at a cost of $10 each for regular tags. Kennel tag sets are $50 each. Bring or mail dog vaccination papers to the county treasurer’s office, Foster said. The deadline to display the new 2014 tag on dogs is Feb. 1. For more information regarding the vaccination expiration dates, call 434-476-3318.
Dog tags cannot be purchased over the website as this office has to review all vaccination papers before issuing tags, Foster said.