Friday, Jul 25th

Last updateFri, 25 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home News Local News A new flow: Organization chart changes

A new flow: Organization chart changes

Current Executive Director for Administration Valdivia Marshall now ranks as the superintendent’s “second in command” after Halifax County School Board members unanimously approved a new organizational chart that names Marshall assistant school superintendent.

School Board Chairman Kimberly Farson was absent from Monday’s meeting when the vote was taken.

Prior to adoption of the new chart, the last organizational chart was approved July 23, 2012 when Superintendent Dr. Merle Herndon first came on board.

Herndon said Wednesday since Marshall serves as her second in command, it was time for a title change.

Marshall previously held the title of executive director for administration.

 “I don’t know if I have ever even seen that used in a school system,” said Herndon.

Administrators spoke with Dr. Mark Allan, director of licensure at the Virginia Department of Education, prior to seeking board approval for the title change. 

According to Herndon, Allan informed administration that each school division is different when asking for what is required for the assistant superintendent’s position.

Currently, Marshall does not hold a superintendent’s license.

“She will not need to have a superintendent’s licensure,” said Herndon. “She already has administrative training.” 

In other changes on the organization chart, Payroll Clerk Donna Henderson will become business manager, and ultimately second in command to Director of Finance Jay Camp. 

Supervisor of Special Education Jeff Davis was changed in title only to director of special education, and Director of Secondary Education Frosty Owens has agreed to take on the duties of former Director of Student Services Beverly Crowder.

Transportation Coordinator Earl Womack was added to the organizational chart along with Coordinator of Special Education Sherman LaPrade.

In the past, Herndon has completed all 16 evaluations for these administrative positions. 

However, on Wednesday Herndon said that “was just too much,” so she has split the duties up among other administrators.

Marshall will evaluate the six directors including Director of Elementary Education Linda Owen, Owens, Davis, Director of Operations and Maintenance Larry Roller, Camp and Director of Transportation Dave Guill as well as Supervisor of Federal Programs Pam Eakes,

Owen will evaluate Supervisor of Instructional Technology Jeanie Hawks, and Owens will evaluate Coordinator of Division Testing Nancy Zirkle. 

Davis will be responsible for evaluating Coordinator of Special Education LaPrade, and Camp will evaluate Coordinator of School Food Services Lori Hale, Henderson and Lead Technician David Day.

Guill will evaluate Womack under the new evaluation process.