Tuesday, Jul 29th

Last updateMon, 28 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home News Local News Chamber to host Candidates Forum next week

Chamber to host Candidates Forum next week

The Halifax County Chamber of Commerce is hosting a Candidates Forum for people seeking election to South Boston Town Council. The forum is scheduled for Thursday, April 26, at 6:30 p.m. at the South Boston-Halifax County Museum of Fine Arts & History located at 1540 Wilborn Avenue in South Boston.


There are five candidates vying for three seats on council. They are Ronnie Couch, Bob Hughes, Connie Manning, Radford Trent and Tina Wyatt Younger. The lone incumbent is Connie Manning. Radford Trent served on council in the past. 

Mayor Carroll Thackston is invited to make remarks and respond to questions. He is running unopposed.

“Election Day is Tuesday, May 1. We believe holding the forum on the Thursday before the election may help generate interest among voters. 

“The purpose of the forum is to help citizens learn about the candidates’ views on issues and decide for whom they would like to vote,” said Nick Long, chairman of Halifax Forward.

Admission is free and open to the public. Seating is limited. RSVP to the Halifax County Chamber of Commerce at 434-572-3085 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Registration also is available by clicking on the Candidates Forum at 

The chamber is the “Voice of Business.” Halifax Forward, “The United Voice for Positive Progress,” is one of the chamber’s most active committees. 

Its purpose is to support, nurture and promote a pro-business climate, encourage collaborative and cooperative efforts both locally and regionally to advance the economic growth and prosperity of Halifax County. 

It is a grassroots network designed to collect and disseminate, when necessary, objective information on current issues at local, state and federal levels and ascertain information that directly impacts the chamber membership to submit to the board of directors.