Friday, Aug 01st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home News Local News National Junior Honor Society inducts 90

National Junior Honor Society inducts 90

A total of 90 students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society at Halifax County Middle School Monday evening.

The Decus chapter of the National Junior Honor Society has been in existence since 1975.  Each year students who have shown achievement in the areas of scholarship, leadership, citizenship, service and character are recognized in a pinning ceremony.  

The National Junior Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for middle level students.  Chapters exist in more than 65 percent of the nation’s middle level schools, and since 1929, millions of students have been selected for membership.  

National Junior Honor Society is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, which also sponsors the National Honor Society.

In order to be eligible for consideration for membership, a student must have attended Halifax County Middle School for at least one semester and must have a cumulative average of 93.500 GPA at the end of the seventh grade year.  Students must also demonstrate the qualities of good citizenship, leadership, service and character.

The purpose of this society is to promote these five ideals.  Students are encouraged to aspire to reach their potential in scholarship, to develop the qualities of citizenship, to enlist in worthy service projects, to become leaders in those areas which will enhance the programs of their school and their community and to mature in character.  Students were instructed to begin to reach for ideals by several members of the faculty of HCMS.

Students who maintain a cumulative grade point average of 90 for their eighth grade school year as well as continue to show the qualities of leadership, citizenship, service and character will be recognized during the end-of-the-year awards ceremony.

New members include Andrew C. Abbott, Tyler K. Adams, Ivy Pearl Asare, Matthew T. Bain, James L. Binner, Esha C. Blanding, Malasia M. Boyd, Mya A. Brandon, Chandler L. Bridgers, Sophia I. Burton, JaQuale S. Byrd, Shania L. Carden, Reagan E. Carey, Tori C. Carter, Sydney L. Cash, Abby M. Catron, Lauren T. Chaney, Gina Chen, Kaleb J. Cole, Taseya D. Coleman, Dale E. Conner, James R. Conner, Lauren K. Davis, Wayne F. Dawson, Briana K. Dixon, Tyler A. Duffer, Tamia K. Edmonds, Paul C. Edmunds, Stephen A. Farrar, Lauren M. Farson, Libby T. Fisher, Jakayla A. Forrest, Deihjzia A. Fountain, Mackenzie R. Francis, Peter J. Gaddo, Gavin B. Gordon, Crystal M. Harris, Kenneth L. Harris, Samuel T. Harris, Kirsten R. Hodges, Katherine R. Holland, Tea A. Howerton, Emily P. Hudson, Jessica A. Hudson, Ashley N. Jackson, Jalia V. Jeffreys, Abigail L. Jones, Howard D. Lammerts, Blair E. Lewis, Kayleigh L. Long, Summer L. Martin, Decidoro N. Gomez Martinez, Rebecca McCormick, Christy D. McFadden, April L. McKinney, Robert F. Morrison, Morgan E. Nelson, Sara C. Noblin, Toluwani S. Ojuola, Jacob E. Owen, Colby B. Pool, Robert H. Powell, Tylik N. Powell, Bruce W. Prevett, Garrison C. Ratliff, Matthew A. Ratliff, Denae’ L. Rauls, Savannah P. Reaves, Cassidy M. Reeves, Amber L. Roane, Brittany M. Roller, Nicholas E. Rosche, Steven P. Salley, Zachary N. Saunders, Morgen I. Slate, Arnytria P. Smalls, Erica S. Stephens, Lindsey A. Stone, Christopher D. Talbott, Travis L. Thompson, Stephen J. Wall, Hunter D. Watts, Megan A. Watts, David H. White, Dylan T. Whitt, Ghaven A. Williams, Jacob D. Wilson, Haley N. Wooding, Daniel T. Woosley, Hailey A. Worsley.