Thursday, Jul 24th

Last updateWed, 23 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home News Government Leadership, time change for school trustees

Leadership, time change for school trustees

Halifax County Public School Board members felt it was time for a change.

So they elected a new chairman, a new vice chairman and set a new time for their monthly meetings.

Board members changed the meeting time for all board meetings in the upcoming year from 7 p.m. to 6 p.m. on the second Monday night of the month.

However, ED-8 trustee Walter Potts said he had “serious problems” with starting the meeting at 6 p.m., and he voted against the motion in a 7-1 vote.

“It’s not giving anybody enough time, especially board members, especially those that do work to get here, particularly the public to get here. Six o’clock is extremely an early time…I would be more amendable to 6:30,” said Potts.

Potts added that no other government entity meets at 6 p.m.

ED-5 trustee Roger Long said South Boston Town Council and the planning commission both meet at 6 p.m.

“We have children here as you well know until 11 p.m. We’re going to work, and we’re going to serve because that’s our job, but we need to be considerate of other people. I can make it a priority to be here at 6,” said ED-4 trustee Cheryl Terry referring to the discipline hearings.

Potts amended the motion to hold the meetings at 6:30 p.m., and the amended motion failed by a 5-3 vote.

The board also elected a new chairman and a new vice chairman Monday night.

ED-3 trustee Kimberly Farson was elected chairman following a nomination by former chairman and ED-2 trustee Karen Hopkins. Farson’s nomination was approved by a 7-1 vote with Potts opposing.

Farson immediately took the chairman’s seat and thanked Hopkins for her hard work as chairman the previous year. 

Farson opened the floor for nominations for vice chairman, and Long nominated ED-7 trustee R. K. “Dick” Stoneman to serve. With no other nominations, Farson closed the nominations.

By a 7-1 vote, Stoneman was elected vice chairman with Potts opposing.

In other business Monday, Superintendent Dr. Merle Herndon recommended Robin Mahan continue to serve as clerk, Joyce Townes continue to serve as deputy clerk and Valdivia Marshall continue to serve as designee to attend school board meetings in the absence of the superintendent. 

All recommendations were approved by board members with an 8-0 vote. 

School board members also adopted Roberts Rules of Order as the parliamentary procedure authority.