- Last Updated on 07:39 AM 11/26/12
- BY The Gazette-Virginian
The deadline for payment of county real estate and personal property taxes for 2012 will be Wednesday, Dec. 5, according to Halifax County Treasurer Linda Foster.
Postmarks dated Dec. 5 will be accepted without penalty and interest on personal property and the second installment on real estate taxes, the treasurer said.
Under state law, a 10 percent penalty and a 10 percent per annum interest rate will be added to all unpaid taxes.
“Please check your 2012 personal property bills for all vehicles, etc. listed as of Jan.1, 2012. Any taxpayer who did not receive a bill on personal property taxes assessed Jan. 1, 2012, should call the county treasurer’s office at 434-476-3318,” Foster said.
Any new landowner after Jan. 1 should call if they did not receive a bill. Anyone with questions on assessment value, change of address or decal fees can contact the commissioner of revenue’s office at 434-476-3314.
Also this year by local ordinance, a $48 solid waste disposal fee is assessed by the county, one per each household on the personal property bill, Foster said.
Call 476-3314 or 476-3318 for more information concerning this fee, Foster said.
For payments, taxpayers are asked to detach all bill coupons and mail their checks or money orders to the Halifax County Treasurer, P. O. Box 825, Halifax, Virginia 24558. Payments also can be made using most credit/debit cards on line at www.webfeepay.com.
Taxpayers should use a ticket number, category of tax, either real estate or personal property, and the tax year they are
paying. Most credit/debit cards also are accepted in the office.
The county only will receive the tax amount due. The company will charge a $3 minimum fee or 3 percent of total taxes due, whichever is greater.
Payments can be made at the county treasurer’s office in the Mary Bethune office complex located at 1030 Cowford Road in Halifax between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Also the new 2013 dog tags are available at a cost of $5 each for regular tags and $40 each for kennel tag sets, Foster said.
Dog owners can bring or mail dog vaccination papers to the county treasurer’s office. The deadline to display the new 2013 tag on dogs is Feb. 1. Anyone with questions regarding the vaccination expiration dates can call 434-476-3318. Dog tags cannot be purchased over the website as this office has to review all vaccination papers before issuing tags, Foster said..