Monday, Jul 28th

Last updateMon, 28 Jul 2014 7am

You are here: Home News Government Write-in candidate wins seat on Scottsburg Council

Write-in candidate wins seat on Scottsburg Council

Although Robert Guthrie chose not to seek re-election to Scottsburg Town Council in Tuesday’s election, voters decided otherwise. A total of 11 write-in votes were cast for Scottsburg Town Council.

According to Halifax County General Registrar Judy Meeler, Guthrie received eight write-in votes to Mark Perkins’ three votes which officially makes Guthrie the fifth candidate filling the open seat on council.

In addition to Guthrie, re-elected to council were Robert D. Elliott with 17 votes; Connie H. Glass, 17 votes; Russell I. Puckett Jr., 17 votes and James E. Stoner Sr., 17 votes.

Scottsburg incumbent Mayor Ira Wilkerson II drew 17 votes of confidence in his uncontested reelection bid.  There was one write-in vote for mayor for Robert Woodfin. 

Write in votes in the election for South Boston Mayor were cast for Ed Owen, two votes; Donna Garrett, one vote; Joe Gasperini, one vote and “anybody but Thackston,” one vote.

“A” received one write-in vote for council, Meeler said.