Tuesday, Jul 22nd

Last updateMon, 21 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home News Local News Hopkins, Farson, Satterfield Win Seats On School Board

Hopkins, Farson, Satterfield Win Seats On School Board

Voters elected Karen Hopkins, Kim Farson and Fay Satterfield to the school board in Halifax County’s ED-2, ED-3 and ED-6 and gave votes of confidence to the four incumbent supervisors running unopposed in Tuesday’s general election.

When it convenes in January, the school board will have a different look with three newcomers—all women—taking their places on the previously all-male board.

In District 2, two political newcomers, SVHEC nursing instructor Karen Hopkins and construction employee Mark Irby, were vying for the seat on the school board held for the past 12 years by current Chairman Steve Anderson.

Hopkins defeated Irby 619 to 269, or a percentage of 70 percent to 30 percent. Hopkins scored wins in all three precincts in ED 2.

In District 3, two-term incumbent Arthur Reynolds Jr. faced a challenge from Vernon Hill business owner and mother, Kim Farson.

When all the votes were counted, Farson surprised the incumbent, taking 58 percent of the vote to 42 for Reynolds. Vote totals for Farson were 547, with 393 for Reynolds.

The incumbent Reynolds got the nod in the Meadville precinct, while the challenger, Farson, won the Vernon Hill and Sinai precincts.

In District 6, business owner Stanley Brandon and retired educator Fay Satterfield were seeking the seat on the school board currently held by 22-year veteran board member D. H. “Mac” McDowell.

Satterfield scored a narrow 22 vote win over Brandon—576 to 554. The percentage was 51 percent for Satterfield to 49 percent for Brandon.
Brandon scored a win in the Mt. Carmel precinct, and Satterfield won the Black Walnut and Union precincts.

All incumbent supervisors seeking reelection this year ran unopposed. In addition, Supervisor J. T. Davis was seeking election to complete the term of veteran ED-1 Supervisor Richard E. “Dickie” Abbott who died July 14, 2008.

Davis was appointed by members of the board to serve until a special election could be held to select a candidate to serve the remaining portion of Abbott’s term.

Running unopposed, Davis received a total of 610 votes of confidence from the voters of District 1.

In District 2, veteran Supervisor Tom West received 657 votes of confidence. In District 3, current Supervisors Chairman William Fitzgerald received 706 votes of confidence.

One-term incumbent ED-6 Supervisor Wayne Conner received 724 votes of confidence.

The Food and Beverage Tax referendum was soundly defeated, with 2,565 county voters voting “Yes,” and 5,317 voting “No,” a two to one margin. None of the 21 county precincts supported the referendum.