Tuesday, Jul 22nd

Last updateMon, 21 Jul 2014 8am

You are here: Home News Local News Teachers awarded mini-grants

Teachers awarded mini-grants

Halifax County Public Schools Education Foundation presented 37 mini-grants to 55 teachers on Thursday afternoon at Halifax Regional Hospital in the Leggett Auditorium.

This program was started by the Halifax County Public Schools Education Foundation in 2008 and awards grants to teachers in order to help and expand the minds of their students.

The grants for this year totaled $10,000. The funds were made possible by Halifax Regional Health System, Crowell Motor Company, Inc., Wal-Mart, James E. Edmunds, II and Virginia “Poo” Roberts.

The foundation received 95 applications this year and chose 37, according to Halifax County Public School Education foundation Board of Directors member Virginia “Poo” Roberts.

Recipients included Margaret Covington, Donna Elliott, Dianne Holmes, Susie Milam, Dianne Talbott, Elizabeth Conner, Annette Ferguson, Sandy Harris, Jennifer Slagle, Sarah C. Graves, Leslie Bohanon, Lanette Spencer, Althea Williams, Heather Cross, Ann Thomas, April E. Myers, Sonya Furgurson, Brenda Tune-Fuller, Forrest Layne, Kathryn Morris and Roberta Williams.

Also receiving mini-grants were Joseph Boutwell, Anthony Pasciuta, Scottie Clowdis, Laura Edwards, Ricky Gordon, Mitch Martin, Debra Woltz, Tamara Neal, Diana Watts, Denise Moore Ferrell, Tracey B. Williams, Robert Hohneker, Vicky Thomasson, Denise Wilkerson, Sandy Slayton, Sharon Hicks, Tracey Williams, Tiffany Moorefield, Gary Chesbro, Shannon Ashley Reaves, Deitra Hart, Myrah Lykes, Beth Tinger, Pamela Archer, Lynn Bowes, Shelia Garmon, Brittney Smith, Stephanie Adams, Sarah Greenbacker, Joyce Winfield-Reeves, Terry McGhee, Krista Skelton, Connie Slagle, Heather Cross, Kristie Satterfield and Robert E. Wallace.