Thursday, Jul 31st

Last updateFri, 01 Aug 2014 7am

You are here: Home News Local News Public To Weigh In On 30 AFD Applications

Public To Weigh In On 30 AFD Applications

Halifax County Board of Supervisors will hold public hearings on 30 applications referred by the agricultural forestal districts (AFD) advisory committee and recommended by the planning commission when they meet tonight at 6:30 p.m. in the conference room of the Mary Bethune Complex in Halifax. Planners held a public hearing on these same 30 AFDs at last Tuesday night’s meeting with no one from the public speaking in support or opposition to the proposed 30 districts.

Hearings will be held tonight on the following AFDs:

Burnett, 473.06 acres; Roanoke District, 1,704.2 acres with the following contingency: removal of PRN #20944 and PRN #32144 which appear to be solely residential; Crews/Midkiff, 438,82 acres; Hickory Hill, 378.81 acres with the following contingency: removal of PRN #26720 which appears to be solely residential (reference to Deed Book 1045, page 611); North Halifax Tobacco, 511.06 acres; Liberty, 713.37 acres; Hunting Creek, 334.34 acres; ED #1, 374.74 acres; Pine Ridge, 203.24 acres; Blanes Mill, 385.68 acres; Sandy Level, 1,500.15 acres; Piney Grove, 282.77 acres; Pearce-Huff, 402 acres; Slick Rock Farm, 397.92 acres; Hartland, 337.82 acres; Sandy Ridge, 347.66 acres; Halifax Properties, 250 acres; Bent Creek Farm, 443.04 acres; Wind Rock Farms 292.99 acres; Mt. Carmel, 349.71 acres; Bill Crews Conservation District, 873.83 with the following contingency: exclude PRN #28475; Buler/Conner, 599.77 acres; Tuck, 253.93 acres; Paces/Sutherlin, 400.18 acres with the following contingency: exclude PRN # 19935, PRN #21557 and PRN #20426; Hudson Road, 567.78 acres; Flintstone District, 318.54 acres; Wilson District, 229.07 acres; Pine Knoll, 339.22 acres; Snake Ranch, 451.9 acres; Millwood, 961.37 acres; and Reedy Bottom, 275.5 acres.
Also during tonight’s supervisors meeting, board members are expected to receive a monthly status report from Virginia Department of Transportation Residency Administrator J. D. Barkley II and to hear annual reports from Douglas Powell on the War Memorial Advisory Committee and on hearings held by the board of equalization.

County Administrator George Nester is expected to report on a request to discontinue a portion of Christie Road (Route 862) in Virgilina, and to update supervisors on coyote bounties and a Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Planning/Zoning Administrator Robbie Love is expected to request supervisors to set public hearings for their March meeting on 20 additional AFD applications that have been referred by the AFD advisory committee.

In addition, supervisors also are scheduled to set a public hearing on a conditional use permit for an RV campground in ED-7.

H. Reed and Leigh Edwards have submitted an application to locate an RV campground on the north side of Ramble Road (State Route 730) at 3132 Ramble Road in Virgilina.

Finance Director Stephanie Jackson also is expected to request approval of a resolution accepting the June 30 financial report.
Under unfinished business, board members are expected to receive committee assignments and make appointments to fill vacancies on the following boards and commissions:

• Airport Commission: Fill the unexpired term of the late Kenneth Cassada that ends Jan. 31, 2011;

• Improvement Council: Fill four vacancies in ED#1, ED#3, ED#5 and ED#6 for terms that expire Jan. 31, 2011.

• Library Board: Fill at-large vacancy with a term that ends June 30, 2011;

• Transportation Safety commission: Fill four-year term vacancy in ED#5 that expires Dec. 31, 2011;

• Southside Regional Juvenile Group Home Commission – two vacancies with one at-large appointment that became effective Jan. 1 of this year with the resignation of Maurice Riddle; and one vacancy for a seat held by the late R. E. “Dickie” Abbott;

• Recreation Commission: Fill three two-year terms that expire Feb. 28 currently held by Catherine Duffer in ED#4, Harrison Conner in ED#6 and Ed Owens in ED#8;

• Southside Planning District Commission:– Fill the three-year term that expires March 31 currently held by Gerald Lovelace; and

• Economic Development Council: Make eight at-large appointments to two year terms that expired Nov. 30 of last year currently held by Lowell Ferguson, ED#1; Jeff Francisco ED#2; Donald Muse ED#3; Ted Bennett ED#4; Hill Felton Jr., ED#5; Ed Talbott ED#6; Weldon Shelton ED#7; and Aubrey Houghton, ED#8.

At the conclusion of tonight’s meeting, supervisors are expected to go behind closed doors in an executive session to discuss the acquisition or disposition of property; a prospective business or industry or expansion of an existing business; consult with legal council; and discuss award of a public contract involving public funds.

Supervisors are expected to hold a school budget public hearing on Monday, March 8, at 6 p.m. and a reassessment public hearing on March 11 at 6:30 p.m.